Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 18th, 2008

Window Mistreatments

I thought I would join the Nester’s mistreatment club. I admit that I did not do these myself. I had a friend come and help me, but we did these in one afternoon with 6 little girls and two dogs hanging around.  I have this breakfast nook window that had gray vertical blinds for the 10 years we have lived in this house. YUCK. They were UGLY. I still cannot believe I lived with those all those years.  This is such an improvement.  These windows made it difficult to hang a valance with the angle of the walls and the size of the windows. I could not decide if I should treat this area as one large window or three windows.  We decided one large window would be the easiest.  We did do a little bit of sewing but also used stitch witchery for some of it. We used a staple gun to make the pleats and stapled it onto a three thin pieces of wood. When it was finished I nailed them to the wall. I love how this turned out and was glad that I didn’t have to invest in expensive rods and hardware. I hot glued black gross grain ribbon to the top to hide the stapled pleats.

The small window is above my sink. We had just enough fabric to make one small panel with a pocket and hung it on a pressure rod between the two cabinets.

Sorry for the poor quality of photos.

Susan

PS—The fabric was free. My other friend gave it to me to match my kitchen. She bought it for a project and never used it and decided not to. The wood was in the garage as was the staple gun and staples.  Out of pocket expense was the ribbon. Not too bad eh?

Read Full Post »

A bouncing party

Today we officially celebrated Bobo’s birthday with friends and family.  Here are a few photos to show how fun it was.

Read Full Post »